The WAC Clearinghouse Names Four New Scholar Fellows

  • Sep 11, 2023

The WAC Clearinghouse is delighted to announce its inaugural fellowship recipients for 2023-2024.

  • Hannah Locher, a doctoral student at The Ohio State University, is the recipient of the Susan H. McLeod New Scholar Fellowship. Locher will be working with the Across the Disciplines editorial team to update the ATD style guide.
  • Macy Dunklin, a doctoral candidate at Texas A&M University, is the recipient of the Will Hochman New Scholar Fellowship. Dunklin will create and oversee a special section on WAC and Adult Learners in The WAC Journal’s regular issue and arrange a mini conference around the topic of the special section to help promote the journal.
  • Leah Heilig, an assistant professor in the Department of Writing and Rhetoric at the University of Rhode Island, is the recipient of the Charles Bazerman New Scholar Fellowship. Heilig will work with the Reference Guides to Rhetoric and Composition series to design and circulate a survey to explore the themes and approaches to narrating the field that readers would like to see in the series. 
  • Stephie Minjung Kang, a doctoral student at Michigan State University, has been awarded an editorial fellowship to work with the International Exchanges on the Study of Writing book series. Kang will develop an edited collection for the series.

The WAC Clearinghouse New Scholar Fellowships, which are either six- or 12-month appointments, were generously funded by donors and were created to provide opportunities for new and early career scholars who are interested in expanding their editorial and administrative experience through involvement in one or more of our publishing venues.