Exemplary WAC Program Award Nominations Sought

  • Mar 3, 2022

The Association for Writing Across the Curriculum and the WAC Clearinghouse invite nominations for the inaugural Exemplary WAC Program Awards. The Exemplary WAC Program Awards series recognizes the extraordinary achievements of WAC directors and/or administrative teams to establish, maintain, and sustain programs that foster and facilitate exemplary engagement with writing across the curriculum at their institution, as well as institutional commitments to support these achievements. Three awards will be issued each award cycle, corresponding with the years dedicated to program building:

  • Award for Exemplary Emerging WAC Program (1-5 years)
  • Award for Exemplary Established WAC Program (6-10 years)
  • Award for Exemplary Enduring WAC Program (11+ years)

Any program that works toward the broadly shared goals identified in the Statement of WAC Principles and Practices is eligible to apply. Programs that focus on specific academic levels (such as a program designed for graduate students) or disciplines (such as a program supporting specifically business communication) or that work toward these goals without being named a “WAC program” (such as a writing center) are also eligible to apply. Both peer and self nominations are encouraged.

Nomination Process:

  • To nominate a peer, please submit the WAC program’s name, the name of the WAC program director, institution, and e-mail contact information. The Award Committee will reach out to the candidate to ask for supporting materials. View peer nomination form here.
  • To self-nominate, please submit the full application through the submission portal, which will open later this month. View application form here.

The deadline to apply is April 15, 2022.

Award winners will be announced in Summer 2022.

Learn more at https://wac.colostate.edu/community/awards/programs/