2023 Exemplary WAC Programs

Combined Logos of the WAC Clearinghouse and AWAC

We are pleased to announce the 2023 Exemplary WAC Program Awards. The Exemplary WAC Program Awards series recognizes the extraordinary achievements of WAC directors and/or administrative teams to establish, maintain, and sustain programs that foster and facilitate exemplary engagement with writing across the curriculum at their institution, as well as institutional commitments to support these achievements. Please join us in celebrating the 2023 winning programs in the following categories:

The 2023 Exemplary Emerging WAC Program (1-5 years) is  

Writing Across the Curriculum at Landmark College

Founders, Sara Glennon and John Kipp

The 2023 Exemplary Established WAC Program (6-10 years) is  

Fairfield University’s WAC/WID Signature Element

Director, Kimberly Gunter

The 2023 Exemplary Enduring WAC Program (11+ years) is  

Writing Across the Curriculum Program at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Director, Pamela Flash

Each of the winning programs exemplifies the principles and best practices of writing across the curriculum, demonstrating commitment to the field’s scholarship and models as well as innovation as they respond to their local contexts. In addition, this year’s winners are deeply integrated into their colleges and universities. They leverage shared priorities and strong partnerships, dialogue and collaboration, critical and creative thinking to advance a comprehensive approach to supporting writing instruction and writers across the campus community. Ultimately, these three programs excel at building learning experiences, developing new knowledge, establishing student-centered practices, and working with faculty across interests and expertise while creating or sustaining a culture of change around writing.

You can view program profiles for the award-winning programs here:

You can learn more about the awards program here: https://wac.colostate.edu/community/programs/