Join the New Association for Writing Across the Curriculum

  • May 2, 2018

Michelle Cox announced the newly-formed Association for Writing Across the Curriculum (AWAC) last week. According to Cox, AWAC “emerged from conversations held at CCCC 2016, IWAC 2016, CCCC 2017, and CCCC 2018 . . . . to coordinate efforts among existing WAC organizations and ensure their sustainability, as well as enlarge the WAC community and promote new WAC scholarship, collaborations, and activities.” 

First Meeting in June

Plan now to attend the first meeting of the association at IWAC 2018 (full schedule) in Auburn, AL during the J6 session (10:05-11:20 am on Wednesday, June 6). The meeting will “provide background on AWAC and then gather in groups to start forming the committees that will be the backbone of this collaborative and inclusive organization.”

Join the Association

Become a member of AWAC now! Membership is free while the association is being organized.

Member are able “to join a committee, to nominate executive board members, to stand for election, and to vote in elections.” See details on the membership form on joining a committee and on the committee descriptions page.

Nominate Candidates for the Executive Board

“AWAC is currently being led by the AWAC Working Group,” explains Cox, “So one of our first items of business is to elect an executive board.” Nominations are being accepted through June 20  for all positions: 

  • Incoming Chair
  • Chair
  • Outgoing Chair
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Members at Large 

Find more information these positions by reading  Article V of the AWAC bylaws. Elections will be held in June.

Current Members of the AWAC Working Group

  • Chris Anson 
  • Christopher Basgier 
  • Melissa M. Bender
  • Ann Blakesley 
  • Laurie Britt-Smith
  • Pamela Childers 
  • Michelle Cox 
  • Heather Falconer 
  • Jeff Galin
  • Jonathan Hall 
  • Al Harahap 
  • Brian Hendrickson 
  • Margaret Marshall 
  • Maureen Ann Mathison 
  • Daniel L Melzer 
  • Federico Daniel Navarro 
  • Mike Palmquist 
  • Joseph Pizzo 
  • Justin Rademaker 
  • Nicole Servino 
  • Stacey Sheriff 
  • Terry Myers Zawacki 


Photo Credit: Day 148: The end of the line by Bruce Guenter on Flickr, used under a CC-BY 2.0 license.